Notre Dame Law School Wins Moot Court Competition

Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition

The team took top honors at this year’s Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition.
Read More

Newseum to Host Special Program on the Trump Administration’s First 100 Days

Trump at news conference

The program will convene members of the press, government officials and First Amendment advocates to discuss First Amendment challenges in the early days of the current administration.
Read More

Seigenthaler Series Presents The Washington Post’s Margaret Sullivan

Margaret Sullivan

Sullivan will discuss media accountability with Ken Paulson, president of the Newseum Institute’s First Amendment Center, at a free community event in Nashville, Tenn., on March 16.
Read More

Tickets to the Free Expression Awards Dinner On Sale Now

2017 Free Expression Awards

The second annual Free Expression Awards will honor those whose work defends and promotes free expression.
Read More

Native journalist faces trespass, riot charges — in silence

Jenni Monet

Native American journalist Jenni Monet was arrested last week while covering protests over the Dakota Access Pipeline. Why aren’t more journalism institutions rallying in her support?
Read More

Newseum and Newseum Institute Appoint New Trustees


Karen Appleton Page, R. David Edelman, Murray Garnick and Julie Henderson join the boards of trustees of the Newseum and Newseum Institute.
Read More

Tim Cook Named Recipient of the Free Expression Award

Tim Cook

Cook to be honored at Free Expression Awards Dinner April 18 at the Newseum.
Read More

Pants on Fire: A fact-checker’s tales of the 2016 election

Bill Adair, founder of PolitiFact

Bill Adair, founder of PolitiFact, will speak on the future and relevance of fact-checking at 5:30 p.m. CT, Thursday, Feb. 2, at the John Seigenthaler Center in Nashville, Tennessee.
Read More

Herbst WSJ Op-Ed: Demand Will Have to Solve Fake News Problem

Jeffrey Herbst

Newseum president and CEO Jeffrey Herbst, writes about the rise, prevalence and consequences of fake news that is infiltrating the mainstream media — and the incontestable demand for this type of information.
Read More

Considering the Future of Journalism

Considering the Future of Journalism

On Nov. 15, the Newseum hosted a discussion with Richard Gingras, vice president of Google News, and Michael Oreskes, senior vice president of news and editorial director at NPR.
Read More